Into the digital future

20. November 2020 SAP S/4HANA is being rolled out worldwide at DRÄXLMAIER

    The digital transformation is one of the greatest challenges facing the automotive industry. It is important to efficiently map, design and master globally networked processes in the digital world.

    New process and system world at DRÄXLMAIER
    To optimally network data, people, systems and processes with one another, that is the goal of the new process and system world that the DRÄXLMAIER Group is implementing on the basis of SAP S/4HANA as part of the group-wide synapsis program. In addition, the automotive supplier is standardizing its database, which significantly improves cooperation across functional and national borders.

    "We are proud to be a pilot location"
    DRÄXLMAIER achieved a major milestone in this project in Braunau, where the automotive supplier is represented with one location. Here, SAP S/4HANA went live for the first time at DRÄXLMAIER. After many months of intensive preparation and numerous training measures, the colleagues on site are now working with the new system world. "We are proud to be the pilot site for a global rollout of around 60 locations," says Günter Sauerlachner, site manager in Braunau.

    Smooth go-live
    "DRÄXLMAIER IT pursues a consistent digitization strategy and with its IT architecture has created the prerequisites for the interaction of all systems", says Maik Krüger, CIO of the DRÄXLMAIER Group. The go-live in Braunau went smoothly. This first milestone provides important information for all other DRÄXLMAIER locations. “With the start of the synapsis rollout in Braunau, we are on a journey with numerous further stages. The experience with Braunau plays an important role for the further course of the project,” emphasizes program manager Konrad Wiethaler. After Braunau, synapsis will be rolled out at numerous other DRÄXLMAIER locations next year.

    General information

    About
    DRÄXLMAIER Group

    The DRÄXLMAIER Group supplies premium automobile manufacturers worldwide with complex wiring harness systems, central electrical and electronic components, exclusive interiors, and battery systems for electromobility. The combination of core competencies in the interior, electrical, electronic and battery systems areas makes DRÄXLMAIER unique in the industry. The company thereby covers the entire process chain, from the initial idea, through the development and production process, and up to precisely in-sequence delivery of the products to the assembly lines of premium automobile manufacturers. The inventor of the customer-specific wiring harness, the DRÄXLMAIER Group develops pioneering wiring harness technology as well as electrical and electronic components, all directly in-house. These include multi-voltage and high-voltage wiring harness systems, battery management systems and intelligent power distributors. DRÄXLMAIER is working on the future of emission-free mobility with its solution for low-voltage and high-voltage battery systems. As a market leader for interior systems in premium automobiles, the DRÄXLMAIER Group also supplies premium automobile manufacturers with ambient lighting, center consoles, door panels and instrument panels, as well as complete door and cockpit modules.  

    The DRÄXLMAIER Group is an international automotive supplier with more than 60 sites in over 20 countries. Founded in Germany in 1958, the company employs more than 75,000 employees throughout the world. For the DRÄXLMAIER Group as an owner-managed business, responsible and long-range thinking has always been the basis for economic success. It is therefore a core element of its strategy to design its business and production processes, as well as its products, in a more sustainable manner and in that way to increase the competitiveness of the company on a long-term basis.

    In 2019, the DRÄXLMAIER Group generated sales of 4.9 billion euro. Customers of this member of the Top 100 Automotive Suppliers include Audi, BMW, Jaguar, Land Rover, Maserati, Mercedes-Benz, MINI, Porsche and Volkswagen, as well as Californian automotive manufacturers.

In die digitale Zukunft

20. November 2020 SAP S/4HANA wird bei DRÄXLMAIER weltweit ausgerollt

Die digitale Transformation zählt zu den größten Herausforderungen der Automobilindustrie. Es gilt, weltweit vernetzte Prozesse in der digitalen Welt effizient abzubilden, zu gestalten und in ihrer hohen Komplexität zu meistern.

Neue Prozess- und Systemwelt bei DRÄXLMAIER
Daten, Menschen, Systeme und Prozesse optimal miteinander zu vernetzen, das ist das Ziel der neuen Prozess- und Systemwelt, die DRÄXLMAIER Group auf Basis von SAP S/4HANA im Rahmen der konzernweiten Programms synapsis umsetzt. Zusätzlich vereinheitlicht der Automobilzulieferer seine Datenbasis, was die Zusammenarbeit über Funktions- und Ländergrenzen hinweg essenziell verbessert.

„Wir sind stolz, Pilotstandort zu sein“
Ein großer Meilenstein in diesem Projekt ist DRÄXLMAIER in Braunau gelungen, wo der Automobilzulieferer mit einem Standort vertreten ist. Hier ging SAP S/4HANA erstmals bei DRÄXLMAIER live. Nach vielen Monaten der intensiven Vorbereitung und zahlreicher Trainingsmaßnahmen arbeiten die Kollegen vor Ort von nun mit der neuen Systemwelt. „Wir sind stolz, bei einem weltweiten Rollout von rund 60 Standorten Pilotstandort zu sein“, so Günter Sauerlachner, Standortleiter in Braunau.

Reibungsloser Go-live
„Die DRÄXLMAIER IT verfolgt eine konsequente Digitalisierungsstrategie und hat mit ihrer IT-Architektur die Voraussetzung für das Zusammenspiel aller Systeme geschaffen“, so Maik Krüger, CIO der DRÄXLMAIER Group. Der Go-live in Braunau ist reibungslos gelaufen. Dieser erste Meilenstein liefert wichtige Erkenntnisse für alle weiteren DRÄXLMAIER Standorte. „Wir befinden uns mit dem Start des synapsis-Rollouts in Braunau auf einer Reise mit zahlreichen weiteren Etappen. Die Erfahrungen mit Braunau spielen eine wichtige Rolle für den weiteren Projektverlauf“, betont Programmleiter Konrad Wiethaler. Nach Braunau wird synapsis im nächsten Jahr an zahlreichen weiteren DRÄXLMAIER Standorten ausgerollt.

Allgemeine Informationen

Über die
DRÄXLMAIER Group

Die DRÄXLMAIER Group beliefert weltweit Premium-Fahrzeughersteller mit komplexen Bordnetzsystemen, zentralen Elektrik- und Elektronikkomponenten, exklusivem Interieur sowie Speichersystemen für die Elektromobilität. Die Kombination der Kernkompetenzen Interieur, Elektrik, Elektronik und Speichersysteme macht DRÄXLMAIER einzigartig in der Branche. Dabei deckt das Unternehmen die gesamte Prozesskette von der ersten Idee über den Entwicklungs- und Produktionsprozess bis hin zur sequenzgenauen Lieferung der Produkte an die Produktionsbänder der Premium-Automobilhersteller ab. Die DRÄXLMAIER Group als Erfinder des Kundenspezifischen Kabelbaums entwickelt heute zukunftsweisende Bordnetztechnologien sowie Elektrik- und Elektronikkomponenten direkt inhouse. Hierzu zählen unter anderem Mehrspannungs- und Hochvoltbordnetze, Batteriemanagementsysteme und Intelligente Stromverteiler. An der Zukunft emissionsfreier Mobilität arbeitet DRÄXLMAIER mit seinen Lösungen für Nieder- und Hochvolt-Speichersysteme. Als Marktführer für Interieur-Systeme von Premium-Fahrzeugen beliefert die DRÄXLMAIER Group zudem Premium-Automobilhersteller mit Ambientebeleuchtung, Mittelkonsolen, Türverkleidungen und Instrumententafeln sowie kompletten Tür- und Cockpit-Modulen. 

Die DRÄXLMAIER Group ist ein internationaler Automobilzulieferer mit mehr als 60 Standorten in über 20 Ländern. Das 1958 in Deutschland gegründete Unternehmen beschäftigt heute weltweit über 75.000 Mitarbeiter. Für die DRÄXLMAIER Group als inhabergeführtes Unternehmen ist verantwortungsvolles und langfristiges Denken seit jeher Basis für wirtschaftlichen Erfolg. Fester Bestandteil der Strategie ist es deshalb, die Geschäfts- und Produktionsprozesse sowie die Produkte nachhaltiger zu gestalten und so die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit des Unternehmens langfristig zu steigern.

2019 erzielte die DRÄXLMAIER Group einen Umsatz von 4,9 Milliarden Euro. Zu den Kunden des Top 100 Automobilzulieferers gehören Audi, BMW, Jaguar, Land Rover, Maserati, Mercedes-Benz, MINI, Porsche und VW, sowie kalifornische Automobilhersteller.