Temperature control of Batteries

04. August 2020 DRÄXLMAIER ensures efficient thermal management

The number of electrically-powered vehicles on the roads across the globe is increasing. Changing from an internal combustion engine vehicle to an E-car should be as easy as possible for anyone who decides to do so. It requires long ranges, fast charging and powerful performance as well as long service life. In order to fulfill these requirements effectively, correct temperature control of the high-voltage batteries is essential.

Great diversity
And that‘s easier said than done. The wide variety of drive types and the lack of a battery cell standard results in a great diversity of cooling systems. Thus, effective thermal management plays an even more significant role in E-mobility.

Impact on the energy footprint
The fundamental theorem of thermodynamics also applies to the thermal behavior of batteries: The sum of all energies in a closed system is constant. In addition to self-heating, the environment and the transport of energy to a heat sink have an influence on the energy balance of batteries. Special attention must be paid to temperature differences between the coldest and warmest cell. Even minor differences in the internal resistance can cause various distributions of electricity, depending on the interconnection and the cell type. This in turn affects the cyclical aging of the battery cells that is based on usage, and with that, the service life of the battery.

Types of battery cooling
Batteries can be cooled in various ways. There are active and passive cooling systems that depend on the battery type. With the latter, the cells are cooled only by heat conduction, radiation or natural convection. In purely electric vehicles, stationary cooling of six to eight kilowatts must be assumed for the sporty driving mode. Simple passive cooling is generally not sufficient for this purpose. Active cooling, on the other hand, relies on forced convection, in which the heat energy produced is transferred to a heat sink via a medium. Solutions that work with coolants and a heat exchanger are particularly powerful and are therefore frequently used for the temperature control of high-voltage storage tanks.

Coolant considerations
When choosing the ideal coolant, there are numerous advantages and disadvantages that have to be considered. Directly cooled systems currently have the best cooling power but also need larger quantities of coolant than indirectly cooled ones. Systems cooled by refrigerants, on the other hand, can attain lower temperatures. However, in that case, the cell can‘t be heated by the medium. Moreover, things like weight, crash requirements, installation space and adaption to each cell type are an issue.

Simultaneous Engineering
All in all, it is important to analyze not only the battery, but all the heat sources in the vehicle.  This holistic approach also includes parts like high-voltage switchboxes or cables and connectors. It is worthwhile here to evaluate permanent, dynamic loads and simulate them beforehand. Simultaneous Engineering can increase efficiency in vehicle projects, as that will help to avoid unnecessary change loops.

General information

About
DRÄXLMAIER Group

The DRÄXLMAIER Group supplies premium automobile manufacturers worldwide with complex wiring harness systems, central electrical and electronic components, exclusive interiors, and battery systems for electromobility. The combination of core competencies in the interior, electrical, electronic and battery systems areas makes DRÄXLMAIER unique in the industry. The company thereby covers the entire process chain, from the initial idea, through the development and production process, and up to precisely in-sequence delivery of the products to the assembly lines of premium automobile manufacturers. The inventor of the customer-specific wiring harness, the DRÄXLMAIER Group develops pioneering wiring harness technology as well as electrical and electronic components, all directly in-house. These include multi-voltage and high-voltage wiring harness systems, battery management systems and intelligent power distributors. DRÄXLMAIER is working on the future of emission-free mobility with its solution for low-voltage and high-voltage battery systems. As a market leader for interior systems in premium automobiles, the DRÄXLMAIER Group also supplies premium automobile manufacturers with ambient lighting, center consoles, door panels and instrument panels, as well as complete door and cockpit modules.  

The DRÄXLMAIER Group is an international automotive supplier with more than 60 sites in over 20 countries. Founded in Germany in 1958, the company employs more than 75,000 employees throughout the world. For the DRÄXLMAIER Group as an owner-managed business, responsible and long-range thinking has always been the basis for economic success. It is therefore a core element of its strategy to design its business and production processes, as well as its products, in a more sustainable manner and in that way to increase the competitiveness of the company on a long-term basis.

In 2019, the DRÄXLMAIER Group generated sales of 4.9 billion euro. Customers of this member of the Top 100 Automotive Suppliers include Audi, BMW, Jaguar, Land Rover, Maserati, Mercedes-Benz, MINI, Porsche and Volkswagen, as well as Californian automotive manufacturers.

Temperierung von Batterien

06. August 2020 DRÄXLMAIER sorgt für effizientes Thermomanagement

Auf den Straßen weltweit finden sich mehr und mehr Fahrzeuge mit elektrischen Antrieben. Wer sich dazu entscheidet, vom Verbrenner auf ein E-Auto umzusteigen, dem soll dieser Wechsel möglichst leicht gemacht werden. Große Reichweiten, schnelles Laden und starke Leistung gehören ebenso dazu wie eine lange Lebensdauer. Damit diese Anforderungen erfolgreich erfüllt werden können, ist es wichtig, auf die richtige Temperierung der Hochvolt-Batterien zu achten. 

Große Diversität
Und das ist gar nicht so einfach. Die große Vielfalt an Antriebskonzepten und der fehlende Batteriezellen-Standard führen zu einer großen Diversität im Hinblick auf die Kühlanforderungen. Ein gelungenes Thermomanagement spielt in der E-Mobilität deshalb eine umso wichtigere Rolle. 

Einflüsse auf die Energiebilanz
Für das Wärmeverhalten von Batterien gilt, was auch der erste Hauptsatz der Thermodynamik besagt: Die Summe aller Energien in einem geschlossenen System ist konstant. Einen Einfluss auf die Energiebilanz von Batterien haben neben der Eigenerwärmung auch die Umgebung und der Energietransport zu einer Wärmesenke. Besonders auf Temperaturdifferenzen zwischen der kältesten und der wärmsten Zelle muss dabei geachtet werden. Denn bereits geringe Unterschiede im Innenwiderstand können je nach Verschaltung und Zelltyp zu unterschiedlichen Stromverteilungen führen. Dies wiederum beeinflusst die nutzungsabhängige, zyklische Alterung der Batteriezellen und damit die Lebensdauer der Batterie.

Arten von Batteriekühlungen
Batterien können auf verschiedene Arten temperiert werden. Je nach Batterietyp kommt eine aktive oder passive Kühlung in Frage. Bei letzterer werden die Zellen lediglich durch Wärmeleitung, Strahlung oder natürliche Konvektion gekühlt. Bei einem reinen Elektrofahrzeug muss im sportlichen Fahrmodus von stationär abzuführenden Kühlungen von sechs bis acht Kilowatt ausgegangen werden. Eine einfache passive Kühlung ist hierfür in der Regel nicht ausreichend. Eine aktive Kühlung setzt hingegen auf erzwungene Konvektion, bei der die anfallende Wärmeenergie über ein Medium an eine Wärmesenke abgegeben wird. Vor allem Lösungen, die mit Kühlmitteln und einem Wärmetauscher arbeiten sind besonders leistungsstark und werden entsprechend häufig für die Temperierung von Hochvolt-Speichern genutzt.

Abwägungen hinsichtlich des Kühlmittels
Bei der Entscheidung für das optimale Kühlmittel müssen zahlreiche Vor- und Nachteile abgewogen werden. Direktgekühlte Systeme bieten aktuell die beste Kühlleistung, benötigen jedoch auch größere Mengen des Kühlmittelns als indirekt gekühlte. Kältemittelgekühlte Systeme können wiederum niedrigere Temperaturen erreichen, die Möglichkeit, die Zellen über das Medium zu heizen, entfällt in diesem Fall jedoch. Hier spielen außerdem Aspekte wie Gewicht, Crashanforderungen, Bauraum und Anpassung an den jeweiligen Zelltyp eine Rolle.

Simultaneous Engineering
Insgesamt gilt es, nicht nur die Batterie, sondern sämtliche Wärmequellen im Fahrzeug zu analysieren. Zu dieser ganzheitlichen Betrachtung zählen auch Komponenten wie die Hochvolt-Schaltbox oder Kabel und Stecker. Hier lohnt es sich, dauerhafte und dynamische Belastungen zu bewerten und vorab zu simulieren. Durch Simultaneous Engineering kann die Effizienz in Fahrzeugprojekten gesteigert werden, da unnötige Änderungsschleifen vermieden werden können.

Allgemeine Informationen

Über die
DRÄXLMAIER Group

Die DRÄXLMAIER Group beliefert weltweit Premium-Fahrzeughersteller mit komplexen Bordnetzsystemen, zentralen Elektrik- und Elektronikkomponenten, exklusivem Interieur sowie Speichersystemen für die Elektromobilität. Die Kombination der Kernkompetenzen Interieur, Elektrik, Elektronik und Speichersysteme macht DRÄXLMAIER einzigartig in der Branche. Dabei deckt das Unternehmen die gesamte Prozesskette von der ersten Idee über den Entwicklungs- und Produktionsprozess bis hin zur sequenzgenauen Lieferung der Produkte an die Produktionsbänder der Premium-Automobilhersteller ab. Die DRÄXLMAIER Group als Erfinder des Kundenspezifischen Kabelbaums entwickelt heute zukunftsweisende Bordnetztechnologien sowie Elektrik- und Elektronikkomponenten direkt inhouse. Hierzu zählen unter anderem Mehrspannungs- und Hochvoltbordnetze, Batteriemanagementsysteme und Intelligente Stromverteiler. An der Zukunft emissionsfreier Mobilität arbeitet DRÄXLMAIER mit seinen Lösungen für Nieder- und Hochvolt-Speichersysteme. Als Marktführer für Interieur-Systeme von Premium-Fahrzeugen beliefert die DRÄXLMAIER Group zudem Premium-Automobilhersteller mit Ambientebeleuchtung, Mittelkonsolen, Türverkleidungen und Instrumententafeln sowie kompletten Tür- und Cockpit-Modulen. 

Die DRÄXLMAIER Group ist ein internationaler Automobilzulieferer mit mehr als 60 Standorten in über 20 Ländern. Das 1958 in Deutschland gegründete Unternehmen beschäftigt heute weltweit über 75.000 Mitarbeiter. Für die DRÄXLMAIER Group als inhabergeführtes Unternehmen ist verantwortungsvolles und langfristiges Denken seit jeher Basis für wirtschaftlichen Erfolg. Fester Bestandteil der Strategie ist es deshalb, die Geschäfts- und Produktionsprozesse sowie die Produkte nachhaltiger zu gestalten und so die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit des Unternehmens langfristig zu steigern.

2019 erzielte die DRÄXLMAIER Group einen Umsatz von 4,9 Milliarden Euro. Zu den Kunden des Top 100 Automobilzulieferers gehören Audi, BMW, Jaguar, Land Rover, Maserati, Mercedes-Benz, MINI, Porsche und VW, sowie kalifornische Automobilhersteller.